Skip navigation


There are committees that serve important functions but do not meet monthly, are multi-jurisdictional, or meet infrequently. Given there are so many, we could not create individual pages for each.  If you require any additional information on these committees please contact City Hall or look below.  

Board of Review - Statutory citizen Board that hears and decides appeals by property owners dissatisfied with the assessed value placed on their property by the City Assessor.  The Board meets annually. 

Guide for Board of Review Members

Energy Independence - This is an advisory committee that meets quarterly to discuss and monitor the progress of the City implementing sustainability and energy conservation efforts.  This committee also make recommendations to the City for energy sustainability and conservation 

Evansville Fire Protection District - This committee is independent of the City but the City has two representative seats of the 6 member board.  They typically meet the first Tuesday of the month at the Fire Station on Water Street.

Evansville Youth Center (EYC) Committee- This committee provides general direction of the EYC operations. The focus is on education and positive encouragement of our youth in grades 5-8.  Committee members consist of employees of the Evansville School District, residents within the Evansville School District boundaries, and residents within City of Evansville boundaries.  The appointed City Alderperson is the chair of the committee. They meet the third (3rd) Tuesday of each month while school is in session.  

Eager Free Public Library 

The members of the library board shall be appointed under Wis. Stats. § 43.54. The Committee meets the last Tuesday of every month at 5:30 at the Eager Free Public Library, 39 W Main Street, Evansville, WI 53536.

Police Commission - Statutory citizen board that meets to discuss and approve hiring, promotions and discipline of officers.  The Public Safety Committee oversees the general operations, not the Police Commission.  This board meets as needed. 

Redevelopment Authority - Statutory board with the responsibility of for redevelopment programs primarily located in the downtown/TID 5 area.  This board meets as needed.  

Tourism Commission - In accordance with Act 55 the City of Evansville created this Commission in December of 2015. There are up to nine members appointed by the Mayor, subject to the approval of the Common Council.  The Commission coordinates the tourism promotion and tourism development activities in Evansville and meets every two months.  

Zoning Board of Appeals - Reviews and decides appeals where it is alleged that there is an error in an order, requirement, decision, or determination made by an administrative official in the enforcement of zoning regulations. It also has the authority to hear and decide special exceptions to zoning ordinances and authorize variances. 



Committees, commissions, and boards play a significant role in helping city staff, the Common Council and the Mayor in making decisions that affect the lives of Evansville residents. The City of Evansville values board participation in these bodies and highly encourages residents to get involved. Committee positions are open to City of Evansville residents; if you’re interested in serving your community please contact Jason Sergeant at 608-882-2266 or by email at
Takes on tasks including business promotion, retention and expansion of the City’s existing businesses, attraction of new businesses to the community, developing ordinances and programs as needed, evaluating sites for potential industrial and business development, and making site development recommendations. Meets at 6:00 p.m. on 2nd Wednesday of the month at City Hall in the Council Chambers.
Term: 4 years, Expiring 2025
Promotes public education, interest and support for the preservation and enhancements of historic sites. Develop appropriate criteria and standards for identifying and evaluating neighborhoods, places, structures and improvements which might be classified as landmarks, landmark sites, historic districts or specially designated landmarks. Review requests for conditional uses, as defined in section 130-6, within a historic district, and make recommendations thereon to the plan commission. Reviews applications for building or demolition permits within the Historic District. The Committee meets the 3rd Wednesday of the month at 6:00 pm in City Hall.
Term: 2 years, Expiring 2024


Housing Authority - 1 VACANCY
Each Housing Authority is governed by a Board of five Commissioners appointed by the chief executive of the political jurisdiction within which the authority is established. Each Commissioner serves a five-year term and may be reappointed. The term of each Commissioner expires in a different year to insure continuity. 

Term: 5 years, Expiring 2027

Plan Commission - 1 VACANCY
The Plan Commission is responsible for establishing, reviewing and changing the zoning laws in the City of Evansville.  The Commission also reviews applications and plans for sub-divisions, Planned Urban Development Agreements, conditional use permits and zoning variances.  The Plan Commission meets the 1st Tuesday of the month at 6:00 pm. Meetings are held at City Hall, 31 S. Madison Street, Evansville WI.  

Term: 3 years, Expiring 2025


Redevelopment Authority - 3 VACANCies
Statutory board with the responsibility of for redevelopment programs primarily located in the downtown/TID 5 area.  7 residents of the city shall serve as commissioners of the authority.  In making appointments of commissioners, the appointing power shall give due consideration to the general interest of the appointee in a redevelopme3nt, slum clearance or urban renewal program and shall insofar, as possible, designate representatives from the general public, labor, industry, finance or business group, and civic organizations. Appointees shall have sufficient ability and experience in related fields, especially in the fields of finance and management, to assure efficiency in the redevelopment program, its planning and direction. One of the 7 commissioners shall be a member of the local legislative body. No more than 2 of the commissioners may be officers of the city in which the authority is created.  This board meets as needed.  Wis. Stats. § 66.1333(3)

Term: 5 years, Expiring (staggering terms)


Meet Our Staff


Jason Sergeant

City Administrator