Requesting your own driving record
Chief Scott A. McElroy

One of the most common requests law enforcements receives is from
someone that wants a copy of his/her driving record.

The Federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act passed by Congress in 1994 and
ruled constitutional by the U.S. Supreme Court in January of 2000 restricts
access to Division of Motor Vehicle (DMV) records. The act is intended to
protect the privacy of personal information relating to driver licenses and
instruction permits, vehicle titles and registrations and identification cards
issued by motor vehicle departments.

The access law enforcement has plays an important role in the day to day
operations of any police agency. This access provides for limited use related
to the necessary functions of a police agency and does not allow for the
release of personal driving records to requesters. Therefore, law
enforcement will not provide this information upon request.

Your motor vehicle driving abstract or record contains your driving history
for a specific period of time. Most entries remain on your record for 5 years,
except for serious offenses or alcohol related convictions, which remain on
your record for 55 years.

Although law enforcement is not authorized to provide you a copy of your
driving record or abstract, you can however, request a copy of your own
driver record over the phone or by mail by contacting the Wisconsin
Department of Transportation.

To order by phone, call (608) 261-2566. The automated system is available
24 hours a day, 7 days a week. It is very important that you listen to the
complete message and follow the instructions given, or the transaction will
not be completed and your request will not go through.

There is a fee for this service. The fee schedule is available at:
http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/drivers/vehicles/veh-fees.htm#record

To request your driving record by mail, you must complete a Vehicle/Driver
Record Information Request Form MV2896 and mail it with the appropriate
fee to:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 7995
Madison, WI 53707-7995

This form is available at:
http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/drivers/forms/mv2896.pdf
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This form is also available as a link from off of the Evansville police
department website at:
http://www.ci.evansville.wi.gov/city/services/police.html

You can also check the current status of your driver license online or by
calling (608) 264-7133 (for a recorded message, 24 hours a day

If you have any questions about the procedure to obtain your driving record,
the following resources are available:

e E-mail: driverrecords.dmv@dot.state.wi.us

« Call: (608) 266-2353

o Visit:
http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/drivers/drivers/points/abstract.htm

You can also contact the Evansville Police Department at 882-2299 and/or
visit: http://www.ci.evansville.wi.gov/city/services/police.html

Source: http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/drivers/drivers/points/abstract.htm
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