
Texting while driving now banned in Wisconsin 

On May 5, 2010 Governor Jim Doyle signed into law legislation that will prohibit texting while 
driving in Wisconsin.  Assembly Bill 496 prohibits sending an e-mail or text message while 
driving, with certain exceptions, and imposes a fine of between $20 and $400, effective 
December 1, 2010.  Twenty-three other states and Washington, D.C. have all enacted similar 
legislation. 

Current law prohibits inattentive driving of a motor vehicle, which means that a driver of a 
motor vehicle may not be so engaged or occupied as to interfere with the safe driving of the 
vehicle. Any person convicted of inattentive driving may be required to forfeit not less than $20 
nor more than $400. 
 
This bill prohibits a person from driving while composing or sending an electronic text message. 
The prohibition does not apply to operators of authorized emergency vehicles. Persons who 
violate this prohibition may be required to forfeit not less than $200 nor more than $800 for a 
second or subsequent conviction within a year. 
 
If anyone has any questions about this new law, feel free to contact the Evansville Police 
Department at 882-2299. 
 


