City of Evansville Common Council Organizational Meeting

City Hall, 31 S Madison St, Evansville WI 53536 Tuesday, April 19th, 2022, 6:00 p.m.

MINUTES

The Oral Oath of Office of Mayor Dianne Duggan, District #1 Alderperson Cory Neeley, District #2 Alderperson Erika Stuart, District #3 Alderperson Ben Ladick, and District #4 Alderperson Joy Morrison was administered prior to the Call to Order meeting at 6:00 pm by Deputy Clerk Leah Hurtley.

- 1. Call to order The meeting was called to order by Duggan at 6:06 pm.
- 2. Roll call of new Council-

Members	Present/Absent	Others Present
Alderperson, Susan Becker	P	City Administrator, Jason Sergeant
Alderperson, Jim Brooks	P	Deputy Clerk, Leah Hurtley
Mayor, Dianne Duggan	P	Evansville Today, Bill Lathrop
Alderperson, Ben Ladick	P	The Evansville Review, Kelly Gildner
Alderperson, Gene Lewis	P	Other members of the general public
Alderperson, Joy Morrison	P	
Alderperson, Cory Neeley	P	
Alderperson, Erika Stuart	P	
Alderperson, Vacant	A	

- 3. Approval of agenda Brooks made a motion, seconded by Becker. Motion passed 7-0.
- 4. Nomination and Election of Council President. Stuart nominated Jim Brooks as Council President, seconded by Morrison. Having no other nominations. A voice vote was conducted and Jim Brooks was elected Council President on a vote of 7-0. The Oral Oath of Office of Council President, Jim Brooks was administered by Deputy Clerk Leah Hurtley.
- 5. Discussion and Motion to appoint The Evansville Review as the City of Evansville's official newspaper for a term of one year. Discussion occurred regarding pricing (\$900.00/month flat fee, expected to increase this year), annual October audits of circulation by the USPS (approx. 5,000 papers/week distributed) and State Statute qualifications. Brooks made a motion, seconded by Morrison. Motion passed on a roll call 4-2-1, with Lewis and Becker in opposition and Stuart abstaining.
- 6. Motion to approve the Committee Aldermanic Appointments- Brooks made a motion seconded, by Ladick to approve agenda items 6A-6J all together. Motion passed 7-0 on a roll call vote.
 - A. Ald. Brooks as Chair and Ald. Neeley and Ald. Morrison as committee members to the Finance and Labor Relations Committee.
 - B. Ald. Neeley and Ald. Becker to the Plan Commission.

- C. Ald. Brooks as Chair and Ald. Ladick and Ald. Morrison as committee member to the Municipal Services Committee.
- D. Ald. Brooks and Ald. Stuart to the Evansville Fire District Board, and Ald. Becker and Ald. Ladick as alternates.
- E. Ald. Brooks to the Economic Development Committee.
- F. Ald. Lewis as Chair to the Park and Recreation Board.
- G. Ald. Stuart as Chair and Ald. Lewis and Ald. Becker as committee members to the Public Safety Committee.
- H. Ald. Ladick and Ald. Morrison to the Redevelopment Authority.
- I. Ald. Lewis to the Historic Preservation Commission.
- J. Ald. Becker Chair to the Evansville Youth Center Board.
- 7. Motion to approve the Committee Citizen Appointments- Brooks made a motion, seconded by Morrison to approve agenda items 7A-7I all together. Motion passed 7-0 on a roll call vote.
 - A. Susan Kruser 244 Eager Ct, and Amanda Firgens, 218 Joshua Dr, for a three-year term to the Eager Free Public Library Board of Trustees.
 - B. Brandon Rutz, 7901 N Tolles Rd, for a three-year term to the Economic Development Committee.
 - C. Steve Christens, 15 N. Second St and Norman Barker, 112 Grove St, for a two-year term to the Historic Preservation Commission.
 - D. Ben Ladick, 126 Garfield Ave, for a five-year term to the Housing Authority Committee.
 - E. Matthew Poock, 470 W Church St, and Jim Espinosa, 115 Joshua Dr, for a three-year term to the Park and Recreation Board.
 - F. Mike Scarmon, 20 Garfield Ave, for a three-year term to the Plan Commission.
 - G. Carolyn Butts, 302 S Madison St, for a five-year term to the Police Commission.
 - H. Betsy Ahner, 66 N Water St, for a five-year term to the Redevelopment Authority.
 - I. Harold "Butch" Beedle, 14415 W Golf Air Dr, and Ben Myers, 8328 N Cemetery Rd, for a three-year term to the Youth Center Advisory Board.
- 8. Communications and Recommendations of the Mayor
 - A. Discussion on vacancy of Aldermanic District #4 position. Council approved the Public Notice of Common Council Vacancy, advising interested candidates to submit a letter of intent to the City Clerk. Alderperson vacancy shall be filled by appointment at the regularly scheduled Common Council meeting on May 10th 2022.
 - B. Closed session: Brooks made motion, seconded by Morrison that Common Council convene in closed session pursuant to Sec.19.85(1)(c) of the Wis. Stats considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility. Upon completion, Common Council will reconvene in open session. Motion passed 7-0 on a roll call vote at 6:21 p.m.

There was no action taken in closed session and the meeting

- 9. Meeting Reminder:
 - A. Regular Meeting: Tuesday, May 10th, 2022 6:00 p.m. at City Hall
- 10. Adjournment

Leah Hurtley, Deputy Clerk

Please turn off all cell phones while the meeting is in session. Thank you.